201 Stephenson Parkway, Suite 2100 Norman, OK 73019

Our Consortium

Our Consortium Partners

The work of the South Central CASC is accomplished through a collaborative partnership among USGS scientists, resource management agencies, and a consortium of academic institutions from across the region. The South Central CASC is hosted by and physically housed at the University of Oklahoma (OU), where space is provided for university, tribal, and federal employees.

Our consortium has broad expertise in the physical, biological, natural, and social sciences to address impacts of climate change on land, water, fish and wildlife, ocean, coastal, and cultural resources. The academic consortium also includes six additional member institutions:


Principal Investigator: OU

Dr. Renee McPherson

Area of Expertise: University Director & Associate Professor; regional/applied climatology, land/air vegetation interactions, mesoscale meteorology, observing systems.

Co-Principal Investigator: OU

Emma Kuster

Area of Expertise: Program Coordinator; climate science and adaptation, stakeholder engagement.

Co-Principal Investigator: OU

Dr. Elinor Martin

Area of Expertise: Assistant Professor; precipitation variability, climate variability and change, climate model analysis.

Co-Principal Investigator: OU

Dr. Berrien Moore III

Area of Expertise: Dean, College of Atmospheric and Geographic Sciences; global carbon cycle, satellite remote sensing.

Co-Principal Investigator: OU

Dr. Mark Shafer

Area of Expertise: Assistant Professor & Director, Southern Climate Impacts Planning Program; science policy and climate services.

Principal Investigator: LSU

Dr. Chris D’Elia

Area of Expertise: Dean, School of the Coast and Environment; nutrient dynamics of estuaries and coral reefs, science policy.

Co-Principal Investigator: LSU

Dr. Victor-Rivera Monroy

Area of Expertise: Assistant Professor; estuarine & coastal ecosystems, landscape/ecosystem models, coastal management and aquaculture.

Co-Principal Investigator: TTU

Dr. Venkatesh Uddameri

Area of Expertise: Professor; climate change, water resource management, water energy nexus, groundwater modeling.

Co-Principal Investigator: TTU

Dr. Natasja van Gestel

Area of Expertise: Assistant Professor; carbon cycle modeling, impact of climate change on mocrobial communities, citizen science.

Co-Principal Investigator: TTU

Dr. Katharine Hayhoe

Area of Expertise: Associate Professor; atmospheric science, global modeling, greenhouse gas emissions, regional climate impacts, policy.

Principal Investigator: Chickasaw Nation

Kara Berst

Area of Expertise: Executive Officer, Business Sustainability & Auxiliary Services; Tribal professional capacity building.

Co-Principal Investigator: Chickasaw Nation

April Taylor

Area of Expertise: Sustainability Scientist; Tribal engagement, cultural resources, Indian education, trainings for Tribal staff, GIS.

Principal Investigator: OSU

Dr. Jim Ansley

Area of Expertise: Department Head of Natural Resource Ecology and Management; rangeland vegetation ecology, woody plant encroachment.

Principal Investigator: TTU

Dr. John Zak

Area of Expertise: Professor & Interim Chair, Biological Sciences; microbial ecologies in arid & semi-arid landscapes.

Principal Investigator: Choctaw Nation

Ethan Schuth

Area of Expertise: Water Resource Manager; instream flow, groundwater resources, climate impacts on aquatic communities.

Co-Principal Investigator: Choctaw Nation

Tye Baker

Area of Expertise: Sr. Director of Environmental Science; Tribal professional capacity building, water resources.

Principal Investigator: NOAA GFDL

Keith Dixon

Area of Expertise: Research Meteorologist; climate change, variability and decadal prediction.